

Welcome Message			Author index
		_	
Invitation message	)		Abstract's keyword index
	_		
Committees			Title index
Referees			Keynote & Invited lectures
Keynote & Invited speakers			
Exhibitors			
Sponsors			

Software by **Oxford Abstracts**Abstract & paper management for <u>your</u> conference http://www.oxfordabstracts.com





## Invitation Message by the IAEE President



### **Greetings!**

I am pleased to invite all members of the world community of earthquake engineers to attend the Fifteenth World Conference on Earthquake Engineering that will next be hosted by the Portuguese Society for Earthquake Engineering. Our definition for an earthquake engineer is much broader than might be implied by the word "engineer." From their inception in 1956, the World Conferences have served as an authoritative platform of information exchange among diverse professionals who deal with earthquake loss mitigation. These include practitioners and

researchers among engineers (civil, structural, mechanical, and geotechnical), architects and urban planners, earth scientists (geologists, seismologists), public officials, and social scientists. IAEE pursues its objectives with an international emphasis: the promotion of international cooperation in earthquake engineering through global interchange of knowledge, ideas, results of research and practical experience.

We are reminded constantly by recurring earthquakes in many countries of the importance of our mission. The human misery and loss caused by ground shaking and its cascading effects can be reduced only through the focused cooperation of professionals who perform their responsibilities in the light of knowledge that has been generated worldwide.

Our Portuguese colleagues have prepared a wonderful conference in one of the most attractive cities of the world, itself the victim of a terrible earthquake in 1755. The scientific program, side activities and opportunities to enjoy what Lisbon has to offer its guests will make the conference a memorable event. I look forward to seeing you all there.

Polat Gülkan, President International Association for Earthquake Engineering



## Welcome Message from SPES President



### Dear Colleagues,

The Portuguese earthquake engineering community is very pleased to welcome you to Lisbon for the 15th World Conference on Earthquake Engineering. Lisbon is linked to the earthquake engineering history since the major event of 1755.

The conference is intended to gather researchers, engineers and other specialists who will share the latest results of research and discuss the earthquake engineering problems

from many perspectives. The topics range from seismology, structural engineering, lifeline systems, seismic risk assessment, to social and economic issues.

This wide range of topics makes this conference a valuable gathering place for all parties involved in earthquake engineering related problems.

Lisbon is a delightful city and is very much worth visiting. It is our commitment to provide you a wonderful stay.

Carlos Sousa Oliveira President of 15<sup>th</sup> WCEE



# **Local Organizing Committee**

Carlos Sousa Oliveira (President)

Ema Coelho (Vice-president)

Paula Teves Costa (Vice-president)

Luís Guerreiro (Secretary General)

Rogério Bairrão (Treasurer)

João Azevedo

Jorge Proença

Luís Arriaga da Cunha

Aníbal Costa

Raimundo Delgado



### Scientific Committee

João Azevedo (President)

#### Committee Members:

Alex Barbat Jason Ingham Pierre-Yves Bard
Alexander Uzdin Jean-François Semblat Raimundo Delgado

Alfredo Campos Costa João Carlos Nunes Rita Bento
Andreas Kappos Keh-Chyuan Tsai Robin Spence

Aníbal Costa Marcial Blondet Ruben Boroschek

Anne Kiremidjian Maria Ana Baptista Rui Correia
Artur Vieira Pinto Mario Ordaz Rui Pinho

Atilla Ansal Mary Comerio Sergio Lagomarsino

Carlos Ventura Masayoshi Nakashima Seth Stein

Costas Synolakis Mauro Dolce Sinan Akkar

Dan Lungu Michael Fardis Sonia E. Ruiz

Djillali Benouar Mihail Garevski Sudhir Jain Eduardo Miranda Mohsen Ashtiany Sun Baitao

Gian Michele Calvi Mourad Bezzeghoud Takahisa Enomoto

Gregory MacRae Omar Cardona Thomas Wenk
Hong Hao Paulo Lourenço Utku Kanoglu

Iunio Iervolino Peter Fajfar Xilin Lu



# **Local Advisory Committee**

Álvaro Cunha

Carlos Rebelo

E. Cansado Carvalho

Henrique Vicêncio

J. Miranda Guedes

João Estêvão

Joaquim Luís

José Fernando Borges

Luís Matias

Mário Lopes

Rui Gomes

Victor Hugo Forjaz

Ana Malheiro

Carlos Trancoso Vaz

Elsa Caetano

Humberto Varum

João Appleton

João Fonseca

Jorge Miguel Miranda

José Madeira

M. Gonçalves da Silva

Ruben Dias

Susana Custódio

Vítor Cóias

António Arêde

Daniel Oliveira

Fernando Carrilho

Isabel Pais

João Cabral

João Luís Gaspar

José Correia Guedes

Laura Caldeira

Maria Luisa Sousa

Rui C. Barros

Valter Lúcio